Life in the Province

Ever since we came back from driving Pau to La Union, my head is one big provincial mess. I keep on imagining myself and my family living the simple life in the province. I fell in love with Aringay, a small, sleepy town in La Union. People here are living a very laid back life. Everything I see is like a hard contrast to the urban living that I’m used to. Major banks and fast food restos are a good 7 kms away but the town plaza, church, the highway and the beach is all just a good walking distance.

What more, I hardly see any signs of poverty. There are houses as big as the ones found in the executive villages but with vegetable gardens and chicken coops in their backyards. All the small houses are well kept and brimming with flower garderns. Satellite TV and cable internet available to those who want them. And all the vegetables and seafood you want at almost 50% off manila price.

I can see myself having a small business in town, an internet cafe, perhaps. Taking on web and printshop work, having more time with my kid and the hubby who’s taking care of chickens and a few piglets in our backyard. Neighbors are like family, inviting each other for dinner or lunch for no reason at all. Old folks making ‘tambay sa kanto’ with the young ones. Picking vegetables for dinner in our vegetable garden. And the beach…a few minutes walk away.

Ahh…the simple life – a dream wishing for it to be a reality.

Leave a Reply

